09.00 - 17.00Contact Details
Wat Sawang Arom -
Ban Bang Mon, Tambon Ton Pho, Amphoe Mueang, Singburi
This temple is also an arts center, focused on educating the public about the construction of the temple’s Ubosot (ordination hall), Wihan (image hall), Sala (pavilion), and its Buddha statues in particular. The statues are a donation from the Ban Chang Lo School in Thon Buri district. In addition, within the temple compound, the Nang Yai Museum displays more than 300 well-preserved and playable Nang Yai (or great shadow puppets). Phrakhru Singhamuni, a former abbot, contributed late Ayutthaya-era puppet figures to the museum. KhruPia, the leader of a shadow play troupe who is well versed in supervising and voicing great shadow puppet plays, donated the others. In addition to paying their respect at the temple, visitors can enjoy a Nang Yai play here.
WatSawangArom is located in Ban Bang Mon, Tambon Ton Pho, in the municipality of Mueang Sing Buri, about 2 kilometers from the old city hall toward the Chao Phraya River. To get there, take Highway 308 (Sing Buri–Ang Thong, the old route) to Km 94, about 3 kilometers from the town of Sing Buri.
The museum is open on weekdays from 9.00 am-4.00 pm, and on weekends from 8.30 am-5.00 pm. For those interested in the show, advance bookings should be made by calling 03 654 3150 or 08 6142 1886.
Take Highway 308 (Sing Buri – Ang Thong, the old route) to Km 94, about 3 km from the town of Sing Buri.