08.30 - 16.30Contact Details
located off Sorasak Road
โทร. 0 3641 1458
This palace-complex is also commonly known as King Narai National Museum and was built in the late 17th century, when King Narai the Great decided to make Lop Buri the second capital of the Ayutthaya Kingdom. Although French architects contributed to the design of the buildings, the Khmer influence is still visible. The palace is a perfect blend of both worlds, a unique mixture of Khmer-European styles.
After the death of King Narai the Great in 1688, the palace was abandoned. It was not until the reign of King Rama IV during the Rattanakosin era that the palace was restored and renamed PhraNaraiRatchaniwet. Now, there are several compounds with pavilions dating from both King Narai and King Rama IV’s reigns.
The complex is located in the town center, between Ratchadamnoen Road and Pratu Chai Road. To get there, go through PratuPhayakkha, which is currently a town park, located off Sorasak Road.
The palace-turned-museum is open Wednesdays through Sundays from 8.30 am-4.30 pm. For more information, call 0 3641 1458.