08.00 - 17.00Contact Details
Amphoe Mueang, Nakhon Nayok
Located on a small cliff close to Khao Cha-ngok, the origins of Phra Buddha Chai, a pavilion temple that features unique paintings of Buddha in different postures, are shrouded in mystery. The paintings were re-discovered in 1942 when the construction of a marble quarry was initiated in a nearby area by the Map Department of the Royal Thai Army. Later restored, locals now consider the paintings sacred, and an annual celebration is held every February. There is a 30-meter high waterfall behind the temple.
Phra Buddha Chai, or Wat Phra Chai, is open from 8.00 am-5.00 pm daily.