Sunday - Saturday
09.00 - 17.00Contact Details
Neun Phra or Neun Yai Hom Neun Phra or Neun Yai Hom
Tambon Don Yai Hom, Amphoe Mueang, Nakhon Pathom
66 3475 2847-8
In 1936, Phra Dhamma Vathi Kanachan (Luang Pho Ngeun), the abbot of Wat Don Yai Hom initiated to build a church, and digging from the base of the hill, he found two square green laterite pillars both about four metres height with a unique carving at the crown of the pillars that resemble pillar doors of Sanchi Chedi of King Asoka Maharaj, a laterite statue of a crouching deer, another Dvaravati period Buddha image, and a broken stone Sema Dhamma Chakra (a Buddhist Wheel of Virtue used to signify temple boundaries).
The laterite stone pillars have a gap at the top to fit the Sema Dhama Chakra in place. The same style is found at Phra Pathom Chedi, Wat Phra Ngam, Wat Phra Padhone, and Sanam Chan Palace. Presently, the pillars are still at Wat Don Yai Hom while the laterite crouching deer and the Buddha images are on exhibition at Bangkok National Museum.
These discoveries confirm that this area was once an ancient temple and the hill must have been a large Chedi since Dvaravati period, or earlier, roughly about 1,000 years ago, marking it as a revered and significant historical site.
Opening hours: Daily 9am-5pm
Contact: Neun Phra /Neun Yai Hom Neun Phra /Neun Yai Hom, Tambon Don Yai Hom, Amphoe Mueang, Nakhon Pathom
Tel. 66 3475 2847-8